Skip to main content

Director's Regional Meeting 2021 Agenda

10 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. Eastern Time, ET (11 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time, AST)

The 2021 NIA Director's Regional Meeting will be held virtually on Dec. 8 hosted by: University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus in partnership with:

  • The Hispanic Alliance of Clinical and Translational Research
  • IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
  • RCMI - Center for Collaborative Research in Health Disparities (CCRHD)
  • UPR/MDACC Partnership for Excellence in Cancer Research
  • Comprehensive Cancer Center - University of Puerto Rico (CCCUPR)
  • San Juan Bautista School of Medicine
  • Third Mission Institute, University Albizu
  • Ponce Medical School Foundation of the Ponce Health Science University
  • Central del Caribe University
  • And other partnering institutions

View the meeting agenda below. Learn more about the 2021 Director's Regional Meeting.

Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2021

10 – 10:15 a.m. ET
11 – 11:15 a.m. AST

Welcome – Opening Remarks

  • Dr. Richard Hodes, Director, National Institute on Aging
  • Dr. Carmen Zorrilla, Dean for Research, University of Puerto Rico, Medical Science Campus
  • Dr. José Rodríguez Medina, Director, IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence

10:15 – 10:45 a.m. ET
11:15 – 11:45 a.m. AST

NIA Leadership and Career Development/Training Award Opportunities Presentations with clarifying questions

  • Dr. Richard Hodes – NIA Overview
  • Dr. Kenneth Santora – Overview of NIA Career Development/Training Award Opportunities

10:45 – 11:45 a.m. ET
11:45 – 12:45 a.m. AST

**Virtual breakout rooms with the University of Puerto Rico moderating groups**

Division Breakout Discussions (cycle 1)

11:45 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET
12:45 – 1 p.m. AST

**Break**

12 – 1 p.m. ET
1 – 2 p.m. AST

Division Breakout Discussions (cycle 2)

1 – 1:30 p.m. ET
2 – 2:30 p.m. AST

Meeting Wrap/Close Out Discussion (All parties return to the main virtual room.)