Skip to main content

Director's Regional Meeting 2020 Agenda

2020 National Institute on Aging (NIA) Director’s Regional Meeting

Meharry Medical College and Vanderbilt University Medical Center

December 07, 2020

10 AM – 1:30 PM Eastern (9 AM – 12:30 PM Central)

Monday, December 7, 2020

10:00 – 10:15 AM ET (9:00 – 9:15 AM CT)

Welcome – Opening Remarks (15 minutes total)

  • Dr. Richard J. Hodes – NIA

  • Dr. James E.K. Hildreth – Meharry Medical College

  • Dr. Consuelo H. Wilkins – Vanderbilt University Medical Center

10:15 – 11:15 AM ET (9:15 – 10:15 AM CT)

NIA Leadership and Career Development/Training Award Opportunities Presentations with clarifying questions (60 minutes total)

  • Dr. Hodes – NIA overview (15 minutes)

  • Dr. Bernard – NIA’s role in promoting diversity/inclusion agencywide (15 minutes)

  • Dr. Santora – Overview of NIA career development and training award opportunities (30 minutes)

11:15 – 12:00 PM ET (10:15 – 11:00 AM CT)

**virtual breakout rooms with Meharry/VUMC Faculty moderating groups, 45 minutes per cycle (90 minutes total)**

Division Breakout Discussions (cycle 1)

  • Division of Aging Biology
  • Division of Behavioral and Social Research
  • Division of Neuroscience
  • Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology

12:00 – 12:15 PM ET (11:00 AM – 11:15 AM CT)

**Break**

12:15 – 1:00 PM ET (11:15 – 12:00 PM CT)

Division Breakout Discussions (cycle 2)

  • Division of Aging Biology
  • Division of Behavioral and Social Research
  • Division of Neuroscience
  • Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology

1:00 – 1:30 PM ET (12:00 – 12:30 PM CT)

Meeting Wrap/Close Out Discussion (all parties return to main virtual room) (30 minutes total)