Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Alzheimer's Clinical Trials Consortium (ACTC)

Alzheimer's Clinical Trials Consortium (ACTC) logo

The Alzheimer's Clinical Trials Consortium (ACTC) is a clinical trials infrastructure launched in December, 2017 and designed to accelerate and expand studies for therapies in Alzheimer's disease and related dementias. ACTC's mission is to provide an optimal infrastructure, utilizing centralized resources and shared expertise, to accelerate the development of effective interventions for Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.

The ACTC is jointly led by:

  • Paul Stephen Aisen, M.D., director of the ATRI at the Keck School of Medicine of USC, San Diego
  • Reisa A. Sperling, M.D., director of the Center for Alzheimer Research and Treatment at the Brigham and Women's Hospital, professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School, Boston
  • Ronald C. Petersen, M.D., Ph.D., director of the Mayo Clinic Alzheimer's Disease Research Center, professor of Neurology at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, Rochester, Minnesota

The ACTC is a cooperative agreement between the NIA and the grantees institutions. The NIA Project Scientist for the ACTC is Laurie Ryan.

Pre-Application Process

Working with the ACTC is a cooperative venture between the applicant, NIA, and the ACTC network. Prior to applying to the ACTC R01 Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) (PAR-20-309), prospective applicants should follow the "How to Apply" information on the ACTC website.

There are three proposal submission deadlines every year (April, August, and October). Deadlines are posted on the ACTC website. Applications are welcome from investigators in the pharmaceutical industry or academia, with a focus on pharmacological and/or non-pharmacological interventions. Studies may be Phase Ib, II or Phase III.

  • Step 1: Review the NIH Notice of Funding Opportunity. We strongly encourage that all applicants contact NIA program staff (listed below) in the early planning phases of any study to discuss the feasibility of conducting the proposed trial through the ACTC infrastructure.
  • Step 2: Download the study concept proposal and synopsis forms from the ACTC website.
  • Step 3: – Submit the ACTC Clinical Study Concept Proposal Form and Synopsis Form to the ACTC Program Administrator.
    • Applicants must submit an ACTC Clinical Study Concept Proposal. This proposal includes the specific aims for the study, relevant preliminary data, and study design.
    • The proposal will be reviewed first by the Protocol Evaluation Committee, and if allowed to move forward, will be voted on by the ACTC Steering Committee. The NIA project scientist is part of these committees.
    • If you have any questions at all, please contact the ACTC Program Administrator, Sarah Walter
  • Step 4: Apply to the Notice of Funding Opportunity. (Note: Approval by the ACTC Steering Committee does not guarantee NIA funding.) If your proposal is approved by the ACTC steering committee, you may then formally apply to the ACTC R01 Notice of Funding Opportunity (PAR-20-309) in collaboration with the ACTC Coordinating Center. Your application will then undergo NIH peer review and will receive an impact score. Applications will be funded based on score and NIA funding priorities.
    • Applications that exceed $500,000 in direct costs in any one year require prior approval before submission (NOT-OD-02-004). The applicant will need to contact NIA program staff, and any requests for submission must be received at least six weeks prior to the submission deadline.

ACTC Steering Committee Sites

The ACTC network consists of 35 sites in 24 states:

ACTC Network Site Principal Investigator City State
Banner Alzheimer's Institute David Weidman, MD Phoenix AZ
Banner Sun Health Research Institute (SHRI) Alireza Atri, MD, PhD Sun City AZ
Brigham and Women's Hospital Gad Marshall, MD Boston MA
Butler Hospital Memory and Aging Center Stephen Salloway, MD Providence RI
Case Western Reserve University Alan Lerner, MD Beachwood OH
Cleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health Justin Miller, PhD Las Vegas NV
Columbia University Medical Center Karen Bell, MD New York NY
Emory University School of Medicine Ihab Hajjar, MD, MS Atlanta GA
Georgetown University Raymond Scott Turner, MD, PhD Washington DC
Howard University Thomas Obisesan, MD, MPH Washington DC
Indiana University Martin Farlow, MD Indianapolis IN
Johns Hopkins University Paul Rosenberg, MD Baltimore MD
Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville Neil Graff-Radford, MD Jacksonville FL
Mayo Clinic, Rochester Jonathan Graff-Radford, MD Rochester MN
Mount Sinai School of Medicine Mary Sano, PhD New York NY
Oregon Health & Science University Aimee Pierce, MD Portland OR
Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center Jacobo Mintzer, MD Charleston SC
Rush University Medical Center Neelum Aggarwal, MD Chicago IL
Stanford University Victor Henderson, MD, MS Palo Alto CA
UC Davis John Olichney, MD Davis CA
UC Irvine David Sultzer, MD Irvine CA
UC San Francisco Adam Boxer, MD, PhD San Francisco CA
University of Alabama at Birmingham David Geldmacher, MD Birmingham AL
University of Kansas Jeffrey Burns, MD, MS Kansas City KS
University of Kentucky Gregory Jicha, MD, PhD Lexington KY
University of Michigan Judith Heidebrink, MD, MS Ann Arbor MI
University of Pennsylvania Jason Karlawish, MD Philadelphia PA
University of Pittsburgh Oscar Lopez, MD Pittsburgh PA
University of Rochester Anton Porsteinsson, MD Rochester NY
University of South Florida / Byrd Institute Amanda Smith, MD Tampa FL
University of Southern California Lon Schneider, MD Los Angeles CA
University of Washington (SIBCR) Elaine Peskind, MD Seattle WA
Wake Forest School of Medicine Suzanne Craft, PhD Winston-Salem NC
Washington University in St. Louis Joy Snider, MD, PhD Saint Louis MO
Yale University Christopher van Dyck, MD New Haven CT

Frequently Asked Questions

Is ACTC the only means by which NIA funds Alzheimer's disease and Alzheimer's disease-related dementias (AD/ADRD) clinical trials?

No, the ACTC is limited in its capacity to 5-7 trials during the five-year award period. Furthermore, not every trial is appropriate for this consortium. NIA has a long-standing history of funding pharmacological and non-pharmacological AD/ADRD clinical trials through several other means, and will continue to do so:

  • Early and Late Stage Clinical Trials for the Spectrum of Alzheimer's Disease/Alzheimer's Related Dementias and Age-Related Cognitive Decline (R01 Clinical Trial Optional) (PAR-21-359)
  • Pilot Studies for the Spectrum of Alzheimer's Disease/Alzheimer's Disease-Related Dementias and Age-Related Cognitive Decline (R61 Clinical Trial Optional) (PAR-21-360)

Do I need to plan my study to use all 35 of the ACTC sites?

No, not every study will use all the sites. The number and choice of sites should be tailored to the specific project being proposed.

Can I propose sites for my study in addition to the ACTC sites?

Yes, you may propose additional sites if there is scientific or practical rationale for doing so.

Program Contacts

NIA Project Scientist (Pharmacological Interventions):
Laurie Ryan, Ph.D.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-496-9350
Email Laurie Ryan

NIA Program Officer (Non-Pharmacological Interventions):
Kristina McLinden, Ph.D.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-496-9350
Email Kristina McLinden

An official website of the National Institutes of Health