NIH honors extraordinary efforts by NIA staff

September 30, 2013

 Turning Discovery Into HealthNIH Director’s Awards were bestowed upon some 34 NIA staff, who received the honor from NIH Director Dr. Francis Collins for exhibiting superior performance or special efforts significantly beyond regular duty requirements but directly related to fulfilling the NIH mission.

The outstanding efforts, recognized at a ceremony on June 12, 2013, included:

  • Alzheimer’s Disease Group Award—For planning and implementing an Alzheimer’s disease research initiative in response to the National Alzheimer’s Plan

    Recipients: Neil Buckholtz, Cerise Elliott, Adam Felsenfeld (NHGRI), Tamara Jones, Charlene Liggins, Marilyn Miller, Suzana Petanceska, Tony Phelps, Larry Refolo, Laurie Ryan, Nina Silverberg, and Steve Snyder
  • Gerontology Research Center (GRC) Project Team Group Award—In recognition of their exceptional leadership and efforts associated with the GRC Building Project

    Recipients: Taryn Ayoub, Larry Collins, Josephine Earley, Luigi Ferrucci, Kenneth Fishbein, Caran Fizer, Alberta Galek, Fred Indig, Kevin Little, Alfred May, Deborah McGovern, Michael O’Donnell, Kathy Perdue, Kristine Rozankowski, Louis Schechter, Patrick Shirdon, Steven Sollott, Harold Spurgeon, David Voss, Charles Weber, and Robert Wersto

Two NIA extramural scientists received awards for their work on trans-NIH activities:  

  • Basil Eldadah, Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology—For participation in the NIH Pain Consortium’s Centers of Excellence in Pain Education Team (nominated by the National Institute on Drug Abuse)
  • Winifred Rossi, Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology—For participation in the NIH Genomic Data Sharing Oversight and Governance Committee (nominated by the NIH Office of the Director)
Share this:
Email Twitter Linkedin Facebook