Skip to main content

4 Repeat Tauopathy Neuroimaging Initiative Cycle 2 (4RTNI-2)

Recruiting

The goal of this observational study is to identify reliable methods for tracking the progression of corticobasal degeneration (CBD), progressive supranuclear palsy (PSP), and oligosymptomatic/variant progressive supranuclear palsy (o/vPSP) over time.

Minimum Age Maximum Age Gender Healthy Volunteers
40 Years 80 Years All Yes
January 2016
December 2021
232

  • Diagnosis of CBD, PSP, or o/vPSP
  • Reliable study partner who has frequent contact with participant and can accompany participant to research visits
  • Ability to walk five steps with minimal assistance

  • Significant neurological disease other than CBD, PSP, or a variant PSP syndrome
  • Pacemaker, aneurysm clip, artificial heart valve, ear implant, or metal fragments or objects in the eyes, skin, or body

Investigators will use several tests to identify which ones are most useful for tracking CBD, PSP, and o/vPSP, which are serious neurological diseases. Tests include brain imaging, eye movement, retinal imaging, blood and cerebrospinal fluid samples, and measurements of cognitive function. The results from this study may be used to help design clinical drug trials. The study will also provide information about the value of novel imaging techniques for diagnosis, and how these technqiues compare with testing of blood, urine, and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers.

Name City State Zip Status Primary Contact
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
San Diego California 92037 Recruiting Ileana Rubio
858-822-5751
irubio@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)
San Francisco California 94158 Recruiting Eliya Ben-Asher, BS
415-476-2941
Eliya.Ben-Asher@ucsf.edu
Harvard University - Massachusetts General Hospital
Charlestown Massachusetts 02129 Recruiting Samantha Krivensky, BA
617-726-6205
SKrivensky@mgh.harvard.edu
Mayo Clinic - Rochester
Rochester Minnesota 55905 Recruiting Ruth Kraft
507-538-9487
Kraft.Ruth@mayo.edu
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Pennsylvania 19104 Recruiting Courtney Igne
215-662-3596
cigne@mail.med.upenn.edu
University of Toronto
Toronto Ontario M5T 2S8 Recruiting Cristina Salvo

Cristina.Salvo@uhn.ca

University of California, San Francisco

  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Name Role Affiliation
Adam L. Boxer, MD, PhD Principal Investigator University of California, San Francisco

Name Phone Email
Eliya Ben-Asher, BS 415-476-2941 Eliya.Ben-Asher@ucsf.edu
Hilary Heuer, PhD 415-476-6743 hilary.heuer@ucsf.edu

NCT02966145

The Four-Repeat Tauopathy Neuroimaging Initiative