About NIA

Offices & Divisions

Division of Extramural Activities (DEA)

Director: Robin Barr, D.Phil.

Go to DEA page »

DEA manages NIA's grants and training policies and procedures, including oversight of grants and contract administration, scientific review, and committee management functions. It serves as primary liaison for NIA with the NIH Office of Extramural Research and with other Institutes that share research interests. NIA's extramural training programs, career development programs, small business initiatives, and other special programs are managed by DEA. The Division handles scientific integrity and ethical questions in research and manages the National Advisory Council on Aging.

  • The Grants and Contracts Management Branch (GCMB) works with scientists and institutional research administrators to issue, manage, and close out awards. The branch has legal responsibility for the fiscal management of the Institute’s extramural grants and contracts.
  • The Scientific Review Branch (SRB) conducts initial peer review of specific research grant applications and contract proposals assigned to the NIA.

Staff

Linda Addison-hardy Lead Extraml Support Asst (OA) 301-496-5210 addisonhardyl@mail.nih.gov e-mail
Janelle Austin 301-496-9373 janelle.austin@nih.gov e-mail
Robin Barr Director, DEA 301-496-9322 barrr@mail.nih.gov e-mail
Russell Blaisdell Extramural Support Assistant 301-496-9667 russell.blaisdell@nih.gov e-mail
Sarita Chapman Extramural Support Assistant 301-594-7912 chapmansc@mail.nih.gov e-mail
Priscilla Garner Extramural Program Office Manager 301-496-9323 garnerpr@mail.nih.gov e-mail
Chyren Hunter Health Scientist Administrator (Deputy Director) 301-496-9322 hunterc@mail.nih.gov e-mail
Michael-David Kerns Health Scientist Administrator 301-402-7713 mk417e@nih.gov e-mail
Lennart Mucke 301-496-9323
Larry Pointer Extramural Support Assistant 301-496-3131 pointerl@od.nih.gov e-mail
Mariatu Sani Lead Extramural Support Assistant 301-496-9785 sanim@od.nih.gov e-mail
Sanoj Suneja Health Science and Data Specialist 301-402-7710 sunejas@mail.nih.gov e-mail